A final field of 18 and four emergencies has been assembled to contest the 143rd running of the Caulfield Cup (2400m).

Al Galayel and Django Freeman weren’t able to secure a golden ticket into the race at the last second, with both failing in Wednesday’s Coongy Cup (2000m) at Caulfield.

There are five international raiders in the final field, with topweight Anthony Van Dyck, Buckhurst, Dashing Willoughby, Prince Of Arran, and True Self all assured of a start. San Huberto, and Le Don De Vie are emergencies.

Chris Waller holds a strong hand with his trio of runners, including Verry Elleegant, Finche, and Toffee Tongue.

Michael Moroney pair Aktau and Chapada are both in the field, as well as Godolphin’s Avilius, and well-fancied Hawkes galloper Master Of Wine.

Find the final field below, with the barrier draw to be held later on Wednesday evening.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Weight Hcp Rating
1 20330x25x1 ANTHONY VAN DYCK (IRE) Aidan O’Brien Hugh Bowman 58.5kg 121
2 x54533x462 AVILIUS (GB) James Cummings John Allen 57kg 114
3 421x395x90 VOW AND DECLARE Danny O’Brien Damien Oliver 57kg 115
4 52112×2165 BUCKHURST (IRE) Joseph O’Brien Ben Melham 55kg 114
5 x03643x741 MIRAGE DANCER (GB) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Craig Newitt 55kg 116
6 0x1225x009 MUSTAJEER (GB) Kris Lees Billy Egan 55kg 114
7 x42212x141 VERRY ELLEEGANT (NZ) Chris Waller Mark Zahra 55kg 116
8 314579×114 DASHING WILLOUGHBY (GB) Andrew Balding Michael Walker 54.5kg 112
9 4x51257x33 FINCHE (GB) Chris Waller Damian Lane 54.5kg 112
10 120x3x36x3 PRINCE OF ARRAN (GB) Charlie Fellowes Jamie Kah 54.5kg 113
11 11x114x045 MASTER OF WINE (GER) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Craig Williams 53.5kg 114
12 x38572x187 THE CHOSEN ONE (NZ) Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Daniel Stackhouse 53.5kg 111
13 x755633x76 WARNING Anthony & Sam Freedman Luke Currie 53kg 115
14 55112×2354 DALASAN Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas William Pike 52.5kg 115
15 x217x6x460 TRUE SELF (IRE) Willie Mullins Declan Bates 52kg 110
16 x1x1311x90 AKTAU (GB) Michael Moroney Daniel Moor 51kg 102
17 622221×582 TOFFEE TONGUE (NZ) Chris Waller Michael Dee 51kg 110
18 x953125x21 CHAPADA Michael Moroney Jye McNeil 50.5kg 108
19e 60x6613x50 RAHEEN HOUSE (IRE) Kris Lees 53.5kg 110
20e 15138×5138 SAN HUBERTO (IRE) Matt Cumani Fred W Kersley 53.5kg 110
21e x07511x000 OCEANEX (NZ) Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr) Zac Spain 51.5kg 108
22e 1x410x4431 LE DON DE VIE (GB) Anthony & Sam Freedman 52.5kg 112

Author: Will Guest

From Muswellbrook to the Melbourne Cup, Will is mad about all things racing and sport. Spent countless hours in the backyard as a child pretending to be Glenn McGrath, and has been known to get deadly late swing with a taped tennis ball.

This article was originally posted on TheRacingSharks.com.au


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *